Preserving natural resources

Preserving natural resources

Back
 
Preserving natural resources
Scroll down

Globally, John Cockerill develops solutions to reduce the consumption and waste of natural resources, to clean and purify water and air, to allow access to drinking water, etc. In this perspective, in 2019, our teams have:
– Installed a municipal waste odor treatment solution (La Reunion)
– Developed a solution for converting peat into activated carbon (Finland)
– Facilitated access to safe drinking water (Kenya)
– Developed a gasification solution for household waste (France)

Treating waste free of odor

An alternative to landfill

Reunion Island has adopted a proactive policy regarding household waste. Its new processing center will recycle more than 130 000 tons each year: sorting recyclable materials and converting them into compost and fuel. Which will take the pressure off the landfills. The Suez subsidiary in charge of the project has commissioned John Cockerill to design and install an air and odor treatment solution.

78 fans and 4 treatment units

Samuel, the Sales Manager, says: “Sorting and treating 130 000 tons of waste every year without odor is a major challenge. The center consists of 18 000 m2, divided into specific areas. In 2019, our teams designed and installed the equipment to ensure an optimal airflow between the zones, activated by 78 induction fans. They carry the air to be treated to our four physicochemical and bio-filtration treatment units. It is a matter of great pride for us to help clean the air that the entire population of Reunion Island breathe.

John Cockerill’s teams have already felt this pride in being useful to their customers, and more broadly to the whole community, during projects in Canada, Poland or China, where they have deployed air and odor treatment solutions of this kind in recent years.

Turning peat into activated carbon

Capturing the pollutants

Since ancient times, activated carbon has been used to capture pollutants in liquids and gases. Today, it can be found in industry, in the communities, in our kitchens and even in pharmacies. With the population boom and the need to preserve natural resources, demand is spiraling. In this context, a Finnish customer launched a technical challenge for John Cockerill in 2019: ‘Is it possible to transform peat into activated carbon on an industrial scale?’ Finland does, in fact, have many peat deposits, which could be exploited for more than just fuel.

Proof positive on the industrial pilot

Marianne, Sales Manager, is delighted: “We examined this question with enthusiasm, and were able to meet this challenge! By conducting tests on our ‘NESA®’ pilot facility, we were able to design and validate the industrial process in close collaboration with the customer: the best peat, and therefore the best site for the future facility, close to the deposits, have been identified; we have developed a process that allows the carbonization and activation of the material in a single passage in a multiple hearth furnace, without energy input, with an excellent result. This technical innovation is a world first! It was a great pleasure to provide the customer with a solution that meets his needs, after having tested it on our pilot installation. He signed right up.

In 2019, John Cockerill Nesa also supplied carbonization and mineral coal activation facilities in Siberia, as well as facilities for the regeneration of activated carbon – spent this time – in Belgium.

Providing drinking water to those who need it

Kenya

For a large part of the population of Kenya, access to water is a real issue. Especially in rural areas, where, according to the World Bank, only 12% of households are connected to the water network. The authorities are therefore launching a vast program to facilitate access to drinking and sanitary water. And have asked John Cockerill to assist them.

Water for 300 000 people

Dominique, the Project Manager, explains: “We are carrying out major projects in three provinces in Kenya, with the support of the Belgian State. They range from well drilling to the renovation and construction of water treatment plants, up to the supply system. We have made it a point of honor to use photovoltaic energy to power the installations, so that they are both more sustainable and less dependent on the availability of the electricity grid. As far as the Kajiado project is concerned, a good part of the wells has been built. We designed and shipped the equipment and prepared the infrastructure on site in 2019, and we will be commissioning the facilities in 2020. This is enough to provide access to water to 300 000 people and to the breeders for their animal herds. And enough to make all the John Cockerill teams proud.

Extracting value from millions of tons of organic waste

Dare you?

The public stakeholders in the treatment of wastewater and municipal waste in the Ile-de-France region* have set a challenge for industrialists and researchers: to maximize the production of injectable bio-methane in the natural gas network starting from the organic fraction of residual municipal waste and sewage sludge. Under three conditions: to show a positive energy balance, minimize the ultimate waste and recover the nutrients.

Double dare you!

The first challenge of the research phase was brilliantly met by the specialists at John Cockerill and their partners**. Thomas, the Project Manager of the research phase, explains: “In 2019, we completed the R&D phase, backed up by tests. By combining substrates, we were able to achieve a higher environmental performance than with separate pathways, and thanks to judicious blending and an innovative combination of proven technologies, we have maximized the production of injected bio-methane on the network. The residual chemical energy is converted into thermal energy, and the nutrients are extracted from the ultimate residues in order to recycle as many elements as possible.” The solution was convincing. As part of a second phase, John Cockerill’s teams and their partners will spend the next 36 months building a pilot unit in order to confirm the expected performance under real conditions. So that, in the end, waste will go hand in hand with progress.

* In the Paris area, Syctom processes and recycles 2.3 million tons of waste per year, and SIAAP treats 2.3 million m3 of wastewater every day.

** For this project, John Cockerill is bringing together the expertise of three of its subsidiaries (Proserpol, Europe Environnement and Nesa) and has joined forces with the company Sources and with the engineering colleges Institut UniLaSalle de Beauvais and the Compiègne University of Technology.

Next project
Preserving natural resources

Préserver les ressources naturelles

Préserver les ressources naturelles

Retour
 
Préserver les ressources naturelles
Scroll down

De façon globale, John Cockerill développe des solutions pour diminuer la consommation et le gaspillage des ressources naturelles, assainir et purifier l’eau, l’air, permettre l’accès à l’eau potable… Dans cette perspective, en 2019, ses équipes ont :

– Installé une solution de traitement d’odeur de déchets ménagers (La Réunion)
– Développé une solution de transformation de tourbe en charbon actif (Finlande)
– Facilité l’accès à l’eau potable (Kenya)
– Développé une solution de gazéification de déchets ménagers (France)

Traiter les déchets sans odeur

Alternative à la décharge

L’Ile de la Réunion adopte une politique volontariste en matière de déchets ménagers. Son nouveau centre de traitement en valorisera chaque année plus de 130 000 tonnes : tri des matières valorisables et transformation en compost et en combustible. De quoi soulager les centres d’enfouissement. La filiale de Suez en charge du projet a mandaté John Cockerill pour concevoir et installer une solution de traitement de l’air et des odeurs.

78 ventilateurs et 4 unités de traitement

Samuel, Sales Manager, témoigne : « Trier et traiter 130 000 tonnes de déchets chaque année sans odeur est un défi de taille. Le centre fait 18 000 m² répartis en zones spécifiques. En 2019, nos équipes ont conçu et installé les équipements assurant les flux d’air optimaux entre les zones, activés par 78 ventilateurs d’induction. Ils amènent l’air à traiter vers nos quatre unités de traitement physicochimique et biofiltration. C’est pour nous une grande fierté de contribuer à purifier l’air que tous les Réunionnais respirent. »

Cette fierté d’être utile, pour leurs clients et plus largement pour l’ensemble de la communauté, les équipes de John Cockerill l’ont déjà ressentie au Canada, en Pologne ou encore en Chine, où elles ont déployé ces dernières années de telles solutions de traitement de l’air et des odeurs.

Transformer la tourbe en charbon actif

Capturer les polluants

Depuis l’Antiquité, on utilise le charbon actif pour capturer les substances polluantes dans les liquides et les gaz. Aujourd’hui, on le retrouve dans l’industrie, dans les collectivités, dans nos cuisines et même en pharmacie. Avec le boom démographique et la nécessité de préserver les ressources naturelles, la demande explose. Dans ce contexte, en 2019, un client finlandais a lancé un défi technique à John Cockerill : « Transformer la tourbe en charbon actif, est-ce possible à l’échelle industrielle ? » La Finlande dispose en effet de nombreux gisements de tourbe, celle-ci pouvant être exploitée autrement que comme combustible.

Preuve par neuf sur le pilote industriel

Marianne, Sales Manager, se réjouit : « Nous nous sommes penchés sur la question avec enthousiasme, et nous avons su relever ce défi ! En menant des essais sur notre installation pilote « Nesa® », nous avons, en collaboration étroite avec le client, conçu et validé le processus industriel : la meilleure tourbe, et donc la meilleure implantation de la future installation proche des gisements ont été identifiées ; nous avons mis au point un procédé qui permet de carboniser et d’activer la matière en un seul passage dans un four à soles multiples, sans apport d’énergie, avec un excellent résultat en termes de qualité. Cette innovation technique est une première mondiale ! C’est un immense plaisir d’apporter au client une solution qui répond à ses besoins, après l’avoir éprouvée sur notre installation pilote. Il a signé à deux mains. »

En 2019, John Cockerill Nesa a également fourni des installations de carbonisation et d’activation de charbon minéral en Sibérie, ainsi que de régénération de charbon actif – usagé cette fois – en Belgique.

Fournir de l’eau potable à ceux qui en ont besoin

Kenya

Pour une bonne partie de la population au Kenya, l’accès à l’eau est un réel problème. Surtout dans les zones rurales, où, selon la Banque Mondiale, seuls 12% des foyers sont raccordés au réseau d’eau. Les autorités activent donc un vaste programme pour faciliter l’accès à l’eau potable et sanitaire. Et font appel à John Cockerill pour les accompagner.

 

De l’eau pour 300 000 personnes

Dominique, Project Manager, explique : « Nous menons de grands projets dans trois provinces du Kenya, avec l’appui de l’Etat belge. Ils vont du forage de puits à la rénovation et à la construction de stations de traitement d’eau, jusqu’au réseau d’adduction. Nous avons mis un point d’honneur à alimenter les installations en énergie photovoltaïque, pour qu’elles soient à la fois plus durables et moins tributaires de la disponibilité du réseau électrique. En ce qui concerne le projet Kajiado, une bonne partie des puits sont réalisés. En 2019, nous avons conçu et expédié les équipements et préparé les infrastructures sur place. En 2020, nous mettrons les installations en service. De quoi donner accès à l’eau à 300 000 personnes et aux éleveurs pour le cheptel animal. Et de quoi rendre fières les équipes John Cockerill. »

Valoriser des millions de tonnes de déchets organiques

Chiche?

Les acteurs publics franciliens de traitement des eaux usées et de déchets ménagers* ont mis les industriels et chercheurs au défi : maximiser la production de biométhane injectable dans le réseau de gaz naturel à partir de la fraction organique des ordures ménagères résiduelles et de boues des eaux usées. Avec trois conditions : afficher un bilan énergétique positif, minimiser les déchets ultimes et récupérer les nutriments.

Chiche !

Le premier challenge de la phase de recherche a été relevé avec brio par les spécialistes de John Cockerill et leurs partenaires**. Thomas, Project Manager de la phase de recherche, nous explique : « En 2019, nous avons passé le cap de la phase R&D, tests à l’appui. En combinant les substrats, nous sommes parvenus à afficher un bilan environnemental supérieur aux filières séparées. Grâce à de judicieux mélanges et à la combinaison innovante de technologies éprouvées, nous avons maximisé la production de biométhane injectable sur le réseau. L’énergie chimique résiduelle est convertie en énergie thermique et les nutriments sont extraits des résidus ultimes afin de valoriser un maximum d’éléments. » La solution a convaincu. Les équipes de John Cockerill et leurs partenaires consacreront les 36 prochains mois à construire, lors d’une deuxième phase, une unité pilote afin de confirmer en grandeur nature les performances attendues. Pour qu’en fin de compte, déchet rime avec progrès.

* Dans la région parisienne, le Syctom traite et valorise 2,3 millions de tonnes de déchets par an, et le SIAAP traite chaque jour 2,3 millions de m³ d’eaux usées.

** Pour ce projet, John Cockerill rassemble les compétences de trois de ses filiales (Proserpol, Europe Environnement et Nesa) et est associé à la société Sources et aux écoles d’ingénieurs Institut UniLaSalle de Beauvais et Université de Technologie de Compiègne.

Projet suivant
Préserver les ressources naturelles