Contributing to greener mobility

Contributing to greener mobility

Back
 
Contributing to greener mobility
Scroll down

John Cockerill wants to provide citizens, cities, businesses and governments with a more sustainable and slower from of mobility and transport solutions. In this perspective, in 2019, our teams have:
– Designed the “zero emission” mobility of buses for the Beijing Olympic Games in 2022 (China)
– Equipped Trans-Gabon with virtual-reality training solutions for its train drivers (Gabon)
– Modernized one of the largest river infrastructures in Northern Europe (France)

 

Mobility at the Beijing Olympics without CO2

Green hydrogen

In 2019, the State Energy Group selected John Cockerill to supply the world’s largest hydrolyzer (stack of 1 500 Nm3/h) for the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics. The aim is to supply a fleet of buses within the Olympic Village with green hydrogen. Hydrolyzers break down water into oxygen and hydrogen. Powered by green electricity, they guarantee a virtuous ‘zero emission’ process.

The world’s largest manufacturer of hydrolyzers

Roland, manager for the hydrogen activity: “Our solutions for the production and distribution of hydrogen cover the entire value chain, from renewable energy source up to green hydrogen for applications as diverse as mobility, industry and the energy sector. All of our customers and partners aim for environmentally friendly solutions. This is the case for the Beijing Olympics, for Liège Airport, or for our applications for making methanol from green hydrogen.

John Cockerill has a strong team in Belgium and France, with a large development budget. “Together with various European partners,” says Roland, “we have built the test and simulation capabilities to create the solutions of tomorrow. In 2019, we also set up Cockerill Jingli Hydrogen, a joint venture with a Chinese industrial partner who is already well established in this market, and have inaugurated new production infrastructures. On balance, with a capacity of 30 MW sold in 2019, we have become the world’s largest player. This position is reinforced by already having sold 11 stacks of 5 MW minimum, the largest dimensions in the world.

Did you say storage?

Producing hydrogen with a hydrolyzer powered by green energy is an excellent solution for the storage of renewable energy. The storage of energy is an area which John Cockerill has chosen to develop further. From 2018 onwards, it has been developing energy storage solutions based on various types of batteries, including flow batteries, through MiRIS®, Europe’s largest industrial pilot plant, which is based at its headquarters in Seraing, Belgium.

Training train drivers without taking out the locomotives

Trans-Gabon railway network

Setrag looks after the management of the Trans-Gabon rail network. The operator’s ambition is to ensure optimal training for its train drivers. To ensure better safety. And cap energy consumption as well. That is best done by confronting them with the many potential problems. It’s quite complicated to do this in real life. Hence the use of the simulators from John Cockerill.

Simulation and virtual reality

Yannick, head of rail simulation at John Cockerill: “We provided Setrag with a comprehensive Transurb® training system in 2019, based on simulation and virtual reality. Not only for the tasks related to the operation of trains, but also for learning how to cope with degraded conditions. Cases in which the driver is asked to leave his machine in order to intervene. Training is carried out at a reduced cost, without stress, creating a variety of situations. We have also delivered compact versions that can be used in different locations”.

Through its Transurb® brand, John Cockerill is a well-known player in railway training equipment via simulation, with references in Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Hungary, Morocco, and beyond: it will soon be equipping the rail network in the Sydney region of Australia.

Faster and less water-intensive river mobility

Fontinettes Lock

The Navigable Waterways of France (VNF: Voies Navigables de France) are committed to ensuring efficient and environmentally-friendly river navigation. The Fontinettes Lock is one of the largest locks in Northern Europe: 17 m deep, a drop of 13 m, 143 m long and 14 m wide. The VNF had already entrusted John Cockerill with the renovation of essential parts in 2015. Again demonstrating its confidence, in 2019, they entrusted it with the repair of the middle gate.

Reduced water consumption

Nicolas, the Project Manager, takes us through this exceptional project: “The middle gate has two panels of 135 tons each. Before carrying out this high-tech intervention, we started by modeling the entire lock in 3D. We then carried out the complete repair while ensuring all the of boilermaking, mechanics, asbestos removal, machining, painting, adjustment work, and finally the commissioning. In addition to this, there was also the simultaneous coordination of the various contractors needed for this 9-month project.”

Thanks to this intervention, mobility is even gentler down the stream. “From now on,” says Nicolas proudly, “a 50% water saving is achieved for every lock passage made, which represents no less than 8 000 m3 of water. Everything went smoothly, and we were congratulated by the customer, who has since entrusted us with new projects throughout France.

Next project

Fighting against insecurity

Fighting against insecurity

Contributing to greener mobility

Contribuer à une mobilité plus verte

Contribuer à une mobilité plus verte

Retour
 
Contribuer à une mobilité plus verte
Scroll down

John Cockerill veut offrir aux citoyens, aux villes, aux entreprises et aux pouvoirs publics des solutions de mobilité et de transport plus douces et plus durables. Dans cette perspective, en 2019, ses équipes ont:
– Conçu la mobilité « zéro émission » des bus des Jeux Olympiques de Pékin en 2022 (Chine)
– Equipé Trans-Gabon de solutions de formations en réalité virtuelle de ses conducteurs de train (Gabon)
– Modernisés l’une des plus imposantes infrastructures fluviales d’Europe du Nord (France)

La mobilité des JO de Pékin sans CO2

Hydrogène vert

John Cockerill a été choisi en 2019 par State Energy Group pour fournir le plus gros hydrolyseur au monde (stack de 1 500Nm3/h) pour les JO d’hiver de Pékin 2022. Objectif : alimenter en hydrogène vert une flotte de bus au sein du village olympique. Les hydrolyseurs décomposent l’eau en oxygène et en hydrogène. Alimentés en électricité verte, ils garantissent un process vertueux « zéro émission ».

Le plus grand fabricant d’hydrolyseurs

Roland, responsable de l’activité Hydrogène : « Nos solutions de production et de distribution d’hydrogène couvrent l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur, depuis la source d’énergie renouvelable jusqu’à l’alimentation en hydrogène vert pour des applications aussi diverses que la mobilité, l’industrie ou le secteur de l’énergie. Tous nos clients et partenaires visent des solutions respectueuses de l’environnement. C’est le cas pour les JO de Pékin, pour l’aéroport de Liège, ou encore pour nos applications de fabrication de méthanol à partir d’hydrogène vert. »

John Cockerill dispose d’une solide équipe en Belgique et en France, avec un budget de développement important. « Avec différents partenaires européens, reprend Roland, nous avons bâti des capacités de test et de simulation pour créer les solutions de demain. En 2019, nous avons également créé Cockerill Jingli Hydrogen, une JV avec un partenaire industriel chinois déjà bien implanté sur ce marché, et avons inauguré de nouvelles infrastructures de production. Bilan, avec une capacité de 30 MW vendue en 2019, nous sommes devenus le plus important acteur mondial. Cette position est renforcée par la vente de déjà 11 stacks de 5 MW minimum, les plus grosses tailles au monde. »

Vous avez dit stockage ?

Produire de l’hydrogène avec un hydrolyseur alimenté par de l’énergie verte constitue une excellente solution de stockage des énergies renouvelables. Le stockage de l’énergie est d’ailleurs un domaine dans lequel John Cockerill a fait le choix de se développer. Depuis 2018, il développe à travers MiRIS®, la plus grande installation pilote industrielle d’Europe installée à son quartier général à Seraing (Belgique), des solutions de stockage de l’énergie basée sur différents types de batteries, dont les batteries à flux.

Former les conducteurs de train sans sortir les locos

Réseau ferroviaire Trans-Gabon

Setrag assure la gestion du réseau ferroviaire Trans-Gabon. L’opérateur a pour ambition d’assurer une formation optimale de ses conducteurs de train. Pour davantage de sécurité. Pour une moindre consommation énergétique aussi. Rien de mieux pour cela de les confronter aux nombreuses problématiques possibles. Le faire dans la réalité est compliqué. D’où le recours aux simulateurs de John Cockerill.

Simulation et réalité virtuelle

Yannick, patron de la simulation ferroviaire chez John Cockerill : « En 2019, nous avons fourni à Setrag un système Transurb® complet de formation basé sur la simulation et la réalité virtuelle. Non seulement pour les tâches liées à la conduite des trains, mais aussi pour apprendre à faire face à des conditions dégradées. Lorsque le conducteur est appelé à sortir de sa machine pour intervenir. La formation se fait à coût réduit, sans stress, en créant des situations variées. Nous avons également livré des versions compactes, pouvant être utilisées à différents endroits. »

A travers sa marque Transurb®, John Cockerill est un acteur renommé des équipements de formation par la simulation pour le rail, avec des références en Belgique, au Danemark, en Finlande, en France, en Hongrie, au Maroc… et au-delà : il équipera prochainement le réseau rail de la région de Sydney en Australie.

Une mobilité fluviale plus rapide et moins gourmande en eau

Ecluse des Fontinettes

Les Voies Navigables de France (VNF) ont à coeur d’assurer une navigation fluviale efficiente et respectueuse de l’environnement. L’écluse des Fontinettes est une des plus imposantes d’Europe du Nord : 17 m de profondeur, un dénivelé de 13 m, 143 m de long pour 14 de large… Les VNF avaient déjà confié à John Cockerill la rénovation de parties essentielles en 2015. Nouvelle marque de confiance : en 2019, elles lui ont confié la réparation de la porte intermédiaire.

Une consommation d’eau réduite

Nicolas, Chef de Projet, détaille ce chantier hors normes : « La porte intermédiaire compte deux vantaux de 135 tonnes chacun. Avant de réaliser cette intervention de haute technicité, nous avons commencé par modéliser l’ensemble de l’écluse en 3D. Ensuite, nous avons réalisé la réfection intégrale en assurant tous les travaux de chaudronnerie, mécanique, désamiantage, usinage, peinture, réglage et enfin la mise en service. Ajoutons à cela le pilotage simultané des différents corps d’état nécessaires à ce chantier de 9 mois. »

Grâce à cette intervention, la mobilité est encore plus douce. « Désormais, reprend fièrement Nicolas, pour chaque sassée effectuée, une économie d’eau de 50% est réalisée, ce qui représente pas moins de 8 000 m3 d’eau. Tout s’est déroulé sans accident et avec les félicitations du client qui, depuis lors, nous a confié de nouveaux chantiers à travers la France. »

Projet suivant
Contribuer à une mobilité plus verte