Facilitating access to renewable energy

Facilitating access to renewable energy

Back
 
Facilitating access to renewable energy
Scroll down

John Cockerill’s technological solutions are designed to use sun, water, biomass or wind to generate electricity. They also enable the storage of the produced electricity and make it accessible wherever and whenever it is needed. In 2019, our teams also:
– Launched a first thermal-solar plant using molten salts (China)
– Guaranteed the perfect operation of 100 wind turbines in the North Sea (Belgium)
– Channeled the energy power of the River Meuse (Belgium)

Storing the sun's energy to regulate the production of green energy

Regulation of green energy

Luneng, a Chinese energy player, is developing an electricity production complex in Haixi (China) bringing together several renewable energy sources: photovoltaics, wind and thermo-solar power. The aim is to optimize their yield and better control their intermittency. John Cockerill is involved in this project.

John Cockerill solar receiver

The thermal-solar power plant at this complex began operations in late summer 2019. Viviane, Project Manager: “Our teams designed the solar receiver. A structure 40 meter high, which was hoisted to the top of a 150 meter tower. The field of solar mirrors that is located at the foot of this tower concentrates the sun’s rays towards our receiver, which will heat melted salt to a very high temperatures (565°C). This allows water to be heated, which will then enter the steam supply that, ultimately, is necessary in order to generate electricity. The point of this melted salt is that it stays hot for dozens of hours. This makes it possible to decide when to produce electricity. Not just when the sun is shining, but when you really need it.”

In addition to the solar receiver, the John Cockerill teams have also designed a remote-control system for the variations in the temperature. “This software allows us to detect temperature variations in our exchangers, and make the necessary adjustments to ensure both the integrity of our equipment and the correct temperature of the molten salt. As the icing on the cake, we are able to control this from our headquarters in Seraing (Belgium). By combining this stored energy with the energy generated directly by photovoltaic and wind, we can better regulate green energy in order to be able to release it at the right time.”

John Cockerill is currently equipping other molten salt thermal-solar power plants in Chile and Dubai.

Ensuring the optimum performance of offshore wind turbines

Belgium is banking on wind energy in its energy transition. Wind energy accounts for 10% of its electricity production, and almost half of this wind power is generated in the North Sea, where there is more wind, and where it is possible to install very large and powerful wind turbines. Belgium ranks 4th in offshore wind power in Europe. John Cockerill is positioning itself as a partner of choice to ensure the maintenance of these offshore wind farms and to guarantee their availability and best possible performance.

40% of Belgian offshore wind power

Marie-Anne, Project Manager: “We have been ensuring the maintenance of offshore wind turbines in Belgium since 2011. These wind turbines are impressive: more than 100 m high and with blades that are 75 m long on the larger units. In 2019, John Cockerill signed a maintenance contract for a new park in the North Sea. In all, we are currently ensuring the correct operation of more than 100 wind turbines, or 40% of the Belgian offshore wind power. A considerable investment was required in technical and safety training. Not surprising given that the transport of the ‘wind turbines’ is carried out by boat and helicopter. We also operate onshore, on request, in Belgium, but also in the Netherlands or the United Kingdom.”

Channeling the power of water

Hydraulic force

The Meuse, an important river transport route between France and the Port of Antwerp, is a capricious river. Downstream of Liège (Belgium), its flow frequently varies from 50 to 2 000 m3/s, with a capacity of 3 000 m3/s in the case of a 100-year flood. The Monsin Island Dam Bridge (Pont-barrage de l’Ile Monsin) was built by teams from John Cockerill in 1928. Due to its variable flow, it allows the maintenance of a navigable level in the Meuse and the Albert Canal between Ivoz-Ramet and Genk (Belgium), a stretch of more than 60 km. In parallel to the dam, EDF Luminus also uses part of the flow to produce hydroelectricity. The floodgates had to be replaced to ensure the safety of the river, both upstream (the city of Liège) and downstream (the city of Visé and the Netherlands), as well as access to the oil port of Wandre, a strategic reserve of the state. The Walloon authorities have once again chosen the teams of John Cockerill for the implementation of this huge project.

Impressive valves

Fabian, Project Manager: “This project is spread over three low-water periods (April to October) in order to be protected from winter floods and to reduce the impact on the water flow. Two valves are being replaced at each low water: we replaced two of them in 2019, as well as their maneuvering mechanisms. Each weighs 145 tons and is 27 meters long. The entire intervention is supported by John Cockerill: the gearboxes and electric panels were manufactured in our workshops and, on site, we combined the mechanical, electrical and automation expertise of our different teams. A remarkable inter-entity synergy! The effective coordination with the civil engineering teams has allowed maximum safety.”

This whole operation will ultimately ensure the safety of the river, and will continue to provide green electricity to 14 000 households.

Faciliter l’accès à l’énergie renouvelable

Faciliter l'accès à l'énergie renouvelable

Retour
 
Faciliter l'accès à l'énergie renouvelable
Scroll down

Les solutions technologiques de John Cockerill visent à permettre l’utilisation du soleil, de l’eau, de la biomasse ou du vent pour produire de l’électricité. Elles permettent ensuite de stocker cette électricité et de la rendre accessible où et quand on en a besoin. En 2019, ses équipes ont ainsi:
– Démarré une première centrale thermo-solaire à sels fondus (Chine)
– Garanti le parfait fonctionnement de 100 éoliennes en Mer du Nord (Belgique)
– Canalisé le pouvoir énergétique de la Meuse (Belgique)

Stocker l’énergie du soleil pour réguler la production d’énergie verte

Réguler l’énergie verte

Luneng, acteur chinois de l’énergie, développe à Haixi (Chine) un complexe de production électrique qui réunit plusieurs sources d’énergie renouvelable : le photovoltaïque, l’éolien et le thermo-solaire. Objectif : optimiser leur rendement et mieux maîtriser leur intermittence. John Cockerill est partie prenante à ce projet.

Récepteur solaire John Cockerill

La centrale thermo-solaire de ce complexe a démarré à la fin de l’été 2019. Viviane, Project Manager : « Nos équipes en ont conçu le récepteur solaire. Une structure de 40 m de haut, qui a été hissée au sommet d’une tour de 150 m. Le champ de miroirs solaires situés au pied de cette tour concentre les rayons du soleil vers notre récepteur, qui va ainsi chauffer du sel fondu à très haute température (565°C). Ceci permet de chauffer l’eau qui entrera ensuite dans la production de vapeur nécessaire, en bout de course, à la production d’électricité. L’intérêt de ce sel fondu, c’est qu’il est maintenu chaud pendant une douzaine d’heures. Cela permet de décider du moment où on produit l’électricité. Pas seulement quand le soleil brille, mais quand on en a vraiment besoin. »

Au-delà du récepteur solaire, les équipes de John Cockerill ont également conçu un système de contrôle à distance des variations de température. « Ce logiciel nous permet de détecter les variations de températures de nos échangeurs et de procéder aux ajustements nécessaires afin de garantir tant l’intégrité de notre équipement que la bonne température du sel fondu. Cerise sur le gâteau, nous sommes en mesure de contrôler cela depuis notre siège à Seraing (Belgique). En combinant cette énergie stockée avec l’énergie générée en direct par le photovoltaïque et l’éolien, on peut mieux réguler l’énergie verte pour la libérer au bon moment. »

John Cockerill équipe actuellement d’autres centrales thermo- solaires à sels fondus, au Chili et à Dubaï.

Assurer le meilleur rendement des éoliennes offshore

La Belgique mise sur l’éolien dans sa transition énergétique. Il représente 10% de sa production d’électricité. Près de la moitié de cette électricité éolienne est produite en Mer du Nord. C’est là où il y a le plus de vent et où il est possible d’installer des éoliennes de très grande taille et puissance. La Belgique se place au 4ème rang européen en puissance éolienne offshore. John Cockerill se positionne comme partenaire de choix pour assurer la maintenance de ces parcs éoliens offshore et en garantir leur disponibilité et le meilleur rendement.

40% de la puissance éolienne belge en mer

Marie-Anne, Project Manager : « Nous assurons la maintenance d’éoliennes offshore en Belgique depuis 2011. Ces éoliennes sont impressionnantes : plus de 100 m de haut et des pales de 75 m de long pour les plus grandes. En 2019, John Cockerill a signé un contrat de maintenance d’un nouveau parc en Mer du Nord. En tout, nous veillons actuellement au bon fonctionnement de plus de 100 éoliennes, soit 40% de la puissance éolienne belge en mer. Un investissement considérable a été nécessaire en formations technique et sécurité. Il faut dire que le transport des « éoliens » se fait par bateau et par hélicoptère. Nous intervenons également onshore, sur demande, en Belgique mais aussi aux Pays-Bas ou encore au Royaume-Uni. »

Canaliser le pouvoir de l’eau

Force hydraulique

La Meuse, important axe de transport fluvial entre la France et la Port d’Anvers, est un fleuve capricieux. En aval de Liège (Belgique), son débit varie fréquemment de 50 à 2 000 m³/s, avec une capacité pour une crue centennale de 3 000 m³/s. Le pont-barrage de l’Ile Monsin a été construit en 1928 par les équipes de John Cockerill. En fonction de ce débit variable, il permet de maintenir un niveau navigable de la Meuse et du Canal Albert entre Ivoz-Ramet et Genk (Belgique), soit un tronçon de plus de 60 km. En parallèle au barrage, EDF Luminus récupère une partie du débit pour produire de l’hydroélectricité. Les vannes devaient être remplacées pour assurer la sécurité du fleuve en amont (la ville de Liège) et en aval (la ville de Visé et les Pays-Bas) avec l’accès au port pétrolier de Wandre, réserve stratégique de l’Etat. Les autorités wallonnes ont de nouveau choisi les équipes de John Cockerill pour la mise en oeuvre de cet immense chantier.

Des vannes impressionnantes

Fabian, Project Manager : « Ce chantier s’étale sur trois périodes d’étiage (d’avril à octobre) afin d’être à l’abri des crues hivernales et de réduire l’impact sur l’écoulement des eaux. Deux vannes sont remplacées par étiage : en 2019, nous en avons donc remplacé deux, ainsi que leurs mécanismes de manœuvre. Chacune fait 145 tonnes et 27 mètres de long. L’ensemble de l’intervention est pris en charge par John Cockerill : les réducteurs et les tableaux électriques ont été fabriqués dans nos ateliers et, sur site, nous avons combiné les expertises mécaniques, électriques et d’automatisation de nos différentes équipes. Une remarquable synergie inter-entités ! La bonne coordination avec les équipes de génie civil a permis une sécurité maximale. »

Toute cette opération permettra, à terme, d’assurer la sécurité du fleuve et de continuer à fournir de l’électricité verte à 14 000 ménages.